Law and Order SVU: Not What I Thought It Was

Posted: April 16, 2011 in Social Commentary
Tags: , , , , ,

I thought this was a great show that was trying to break the myths about rape and taking a stance against rape culture.

 But then the last two episodes I watched  had the victims lying about rape: one for money, the other in fear of her mother. 

After that I started questioning more of the show. Most of the rape victims were dead. Of the ones that have been alive, three were murderers, one a crazy mormon who forgave her rapist, two were liars. There are also too many flippant remarks about rape in prison.

I have a bitter taste in my mouth and don’t want to watch this show anymore.

Leave a Reply

